top of page

The League of Friends


The fight for local NHS services has a long history. The Haslemere Hospital League of Friends (LoF) was formed in 1952.


Mrs Rose Parry was elected LoF Chairman in May 2013
Rose Parry worked in the NHS for a total of 41 years. The majority of her working life has been based in community services. In 1996 Rose became a manager of clinical services. Between 1996 and 2009 when she retired she managed a wide range of community services. These included the four Community Hospitals in South West Surrey, Community Nursing Services, Community Equipment, Podiatry, Wheelchair Services, Allied Health Professionals, Retinal Screening across Surrey and the community based Orthopaedic service.
It was the link with the Community Hospitals that first brought Rose into contact with the League of Friends and the excellent work that they do with supporting and enhancing patient care locally. The ever changing face of the NHS is a challenge for any organisation to keep pace with and this for Haslemere is even greater with the multiple providers who are involved with services out of Haslemere Hospital.
Rose is a local resident and has lived in Haslemere and surrounding area for most of her life.

The League of Friends Committee

The Committee comprises both professional and dedicated local people with a wide range of specialist knowledge. It meets six times a year at the hospital and is usually joined by a representative of the hospital management. We discuss how best to represent the needs of the community with that of the hospital. The Annual General Meeting takes place in May.


Dr. Mark Hurst.

Mark Hurst was a doctor at Haslemere Health Centre for thirty four years, and retired in 2015. He is also a trustee for The Hunter Centre in Haslemere

Hon Treasurer

Mrs. Jan Steward.

Jan joined the Committee in 1992, having  carried out many volunteer tasks in the hospital and became Treasurer in 2003.

Hon Secretary

Mr. John Orr.

Joined the Committee and became Secretary in 2012.


Mrs Cherry Aitken
Mr Arthur Beecher

Mr Ian Bennett
Mrs Gay Bradley
Mrs Penny Bradley
Mrs Anthea Brock
Mr Martin Coakley
Dr. Mark Hurst
Mrs Linda Donaldson
Mrs Caroline Jackson
Mr Robert Knowles
Mrs Jossie McCarthy
Mr Bob Monteath
Mrs Sarah Mulliner
Mrs Linda Donaldson
Dr. Philip Ridsdill-Smith
Ms Caroline Warrington

Rose Parry, Chair of Haslemere Hospital League of Friends
bottom of page